The Honorable Mitch McConnell Senate Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Chuck Schumer Senate Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Leader McConnell, Leader Schumer, Speaker Pelosi, and Leader McCarthy:

As you consider additional COVID-19 relief legislation, we would urge you to consider an additional \$36 billion in assistance to public transit agencies across the country, using the FTA's statutory formulas for urban public transit (Section 5307), State of Good Repair Grants (Section 5337), rural and tribal public transit (Section 5311) and specialized transportation for our nation's vulnerable elders and individuals with disabilities (Section 5310). These funds will help offset the extraordinary direct costs and revenue losses that we continue to experience as a result of the pandemic, and help us continue to avoid layoffs of our critical workforce.

We are all deeply indebted to Congress for providing us assistance through the CARES Act. It has saved jobs and allowed us to safeguard our riders and our workforce. However, public transit agencies of every size across the country continue to be devastated by the financial impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, both in loss of ridership and loss of sales tax revenues. We are in dire need of additional funding to continue serving riders who rely on public transit to conduct essential business, access vital services, and play an indispensable role in America's social and economic recovery from COVID-19.

As Congress prepares another round of necessary supplemental appropriations in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are urging you to include \$36 billion in supplemental funding to transit agencies operating in communities of all sizes using the exact same distribution method as the CARES Act. Using existing FTA funding formulas will assure that transit systems across the country continue to move quickly to get us all through the worst of this pandemic equitably and sustainably.

Without this funding, public transit agencies may be required to drastically curtail service and delay critical capital projects, impacting the freedom of mobility for individuals with disabilities; public transportation for health care workers, law enforcement, first responders, and other safety personnel; and Medicaid recipients who receive medical transportation for kidney dialysis, cancer treatments, and other critical care.

Thank you for your consideration, and please let us know if we can provide additional information on how the pandemic continues to impact our operations.

Sincerely,

Alex Clifford CEO/General Manager Santa Cruz Metropolitan Transit District 110 Vernon Street Santa Cruz, CA 95060 (831) 426-6080 <u>AClifford@scmtd.com</u> <u>http://www.scmtd.com</u>

cc: House and Senate Appropriations and Authorizing Committees

### The following transit CEOs are co-signers to this letter:

### 1. Alex Clifford

CEO/General Manger Santa Cruz Metropolitan Transit District

# 2. Mark Donaghy

CEO, Greater Dayton RTA

#### 3. Larry Rubio

CEO, Riverside Transit Agency (RTA)

4. Carl Sedoryk

me A Sadoryk

CEO, Monterey-Salinas Transit

# 5. Gloria G. Salazar

Jalan

CEO, San Joaquin Regional Transit District

6. Aurora Jackson

General Manger Lane Transit District

7. Todd Morrow

Executive Director, Island Transit

# 8. S. Craig Ross

President/CEO Macon-Bibb County Transit Authority

### 9. John W. Clauson

Executive Director Kitsap Transit

# 10. Mallory R. Avis

Public Transit Director City of Battle Creek Transit

# 11. Jeff Arndt

President and CEO VIA Metropolitan Transit

# 12. Steven P. Brown

General Manager Gold Coast Transit District

# 13. Jeanne Krieg

Chief Executive Officer Eastern Contra Costa Transit Authority

# 14. Maurice N. Pearl

General Manager Fort Wayne Citilink

#### 15. Randy Zobrist

Executive Director/CEO River Bend Transit (RBT)

### 16. Austin O'Dell

Transit Services Manager City of Santa Maria

#### 17. Geoff Straw

Executive Director San Luis Obispo Regional Transit Authority

#### 18. Kevin Kane

Executive Director/CEO Victor Valley Transit Authority

#### 19. Lauren Skiver

men

CEO/General Manager SunLine Transit Agency