To ensure delivery of Legislative Alert, please add 'LegislativeAlert@apta.com' to your email address book. If you are still having problems receiving our newsletter, see our whitelisting page for more details: http://www.commpartners.com/website/white-listing.htm



December 7, 2017

Congress Selects Conferees for Tax Reform Conference Committee

On Monday evening, Speaker of the House Paul D. Ryan (R-WI) appointed House Republicans conferees to the conference committee that will be responsible for reconciling differences between the House and Senate-passed tax reform bills.

Speaker Ryan selected House Ways and Means Chairman Kevin Brady (R-TX) as chairman of the conference. Other Republicans named to the conference are Reps. Devin Nunes (CA), Peter Roskam (IL), Diane Black (TN), Kristi Noem (SD), Rob Bishop (UT), Don Young (AK), Greg Walden (OR), and John Shimkus (IL). House minority Leader Pelosi selected the following Democrats for the committee: Reps. Richard Neal (MA), Sander Levin (MI), Lloyd Doggett (TX), Raul Grijalva (AZ), and Kathy Castor (FL).

On Wednesday, Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) selected the Senate Republicans that would participate in the conference committee, including Finance Committee Chairman Orrin Hatch (UT), Mike Enzi (WY), Lisa Murkowski (AK), John Cornyn (TX), John Thune (SD), Rob Portman (OH), Tim Scott (SC), Pat Toomey (PA). Senate Democrats have elected to send the following Senators to the conference committee: Ron Wyden (OR), Bernie Sanders (VT), Patty Murray (WA), Maria Cantwell (WA), Debbie Stabenow (MI), Bob Menendez (NJ), and Tom Carper (DE).

APTA sent a letter to the conferees stating priorities on tax reform reinforcing the principles stated in previous letters to the tax-writing committees in both chambers. These include the solvency of the Highway Trust Fund, Private Activity Bonds (PABs), Advance Refundability of Municipal Bonds, the Commuter Tax Benefit, and Alternative Fuels Benefits. To view the letter in its entirety, please click here.

APTA also signed two different coalition letters related to the preservation of PABs and the advance refundability of municipal bonds. To view the letter sent by the Public Finance Coalition, please click here. To view the letter sent by another coalition of advocates for infrastructure investment, please click here.

Congressman Sam Graves (MO) Pens Republican Letter in Support of PABs

House Subcommittee on Highways and Transit Chairman Sam Graves is circulating a letter to his colleagues in the House to advocate for preserving PABs. The Congressman asks those in favor of this action to call their Representative and urge them to sign onto his support letter, which can be found here. To find your Member of Congress, please visit our website here. The deadline for cosigners is COB Wednesday, December 13.

American Public Transportation Association Unsubscribe here

1300 I Street NW, Suite 1200 East, Washington, DC 20005 (202) 496-4800 | www.apta.com